Proudly offering Independent Living, Assisted Living, Memory Care and Skilled Nursing

The Seven Stages of Dementia

August 14, 2017 in: The Seven Stages of Dementia,

What is dementia?

The term ‘dementia’ generally refers to a very specific category of mental illnesses that are known for causing loss of memory, as well as the increasingly steady deterioration of many other important mental functions.

As a rule, symptoms of dementia manifest themselves because of certain physical changes that occur deep within the brain of the sufferer. This is a rapidly progressive disease, which means that the odds are that the patient’s condition will worsen over time.

There is no set pattern for its progression. The condition of some people rapidly worsens while many others continue to live relatively normal lives in spite of being diagnosed many years back.

This has in part, a lot to do with the overall causes of this disease and the irretrievable damage that may ultimately inflict on the human brain.

However, regardless of the stage it may be on or whichever brain malady is responsible, the odds are that the symptoms would remain the same irrespective of the fact that they may have been caused either by Alzheimer's Disease or Vascular dementia or even Parkinson’s.

These are the seven main stages of Dementia

Stage one: No Impairment

This is the very first stage and there are no obvious signs that the patient suffers from any form of dementia. In this stage, he is able to function independently.

Stage Two: Very mild

Generally, it showcases very mild forgetfulness such as putting the car keys somewhere and not being able to remember when and where. It is a slight irritant and nothing more than that.

Stage Three: Mild

In this stage, the patient is capable of performing the day to day tasks such as taking care of personal hygiene and getting dressed. However, they may not be able to remember if they have taken their medications or not or they may suffer from periodic episodes of lack of concentration.

Furthermore, they may also suffer from the repetition of the same things again and again or become confused easily.

Stage Four: Moderate

This is the onset of the ‘ominous’ stages since the patient is not capable of performing the routine tasks that he or she may well have been used to doing. These may include washing laundry, cooking food, or even figuring out how to use the telephone. In this stage, urinary incontinence is fairly common and there is a lot of forgetfulness and increase in memory loss. The patient often starts to withdraw socially from his friends and even close family members.

Stage Five: Moderately severe

Once they reach this stage, most dementia patients will be in need of at least some form of assistance with regard to their daily activities. They will require help in changing clothes and remembering names and events, even if they would be able to recognize familiar faces. At this stage, they might need the services of a duly qualified professional caregiver.

Stage Six: Severe

At this stage, it is difficult for the patient to survive without constant supervision of a caregiver since he may commence experiencing hallucinations and even paranoia and may become hostile without warning.

Stage Seven: Very severe

 As the illness progresses, it culminates in its seventh or final stage. Here the patient may be incapable of understanding or speaking his own native language and would not even be able to eat on his own and may not even be able to remember how to smile or sit as such.

Blog Categories